IRS Special Enrollment Examination

how hard is the enrolled agent exam

The association’s site offers extensive information on becoming an enrolled agent, plus tips for passing the SEE. The NAEA also provides continuing education opportunities and career development resources. A note of caution – These lists are fairly long and can be intimidating, but many of the items just clarify topics on the original list and would be items you would study in any case. But some, such as taxpayer identity security issues, are indeed new items for discussion. An asterisk on an item in Appendix B indicates a new topic that is very new and/or was completely ignored on exams in the past. Candidates may take each part of the exam up to four times during the 10-month window of May 1–February 28.

How hard is it to pass EA?

The EA Exam, also known as the Special Enrollment Exam (SEE Exam), is one of the easier tax professional credential exams, with about a 70% national pass rate. Compare that to the CPA and CMA Exams, which are both closer to 50% on average.

These, by and large, mirror questions asked on previous exams under the old IRS format. True, there are some new topics, mainly related to client relations and audit and representation responsibilities, and we’ll discuss this factor next. But you need to get a flavor of the questions and the depth of knowledge expected on the exam under the old format.

SEE Content/Scoring

Click below for a list of test topics for each examination part. Candidates do not have to take all parts of the test on the same day or on consecutive days. They also do not have to complete the parts in any particular order. Prometric only offers the exam at its testing sites and not through off-site proctors.

how hard is the enrolled agent exam

So when you jump back in to study to retake the part, use the diagnostic report to help you study your weak areas. So don’t give up, you can do it if you continue to do the work and put in the effort to pass. You have embarked on a journey of self-improvement to become an Enrolled Agent. Like any credential that takes effort, it can help you in your career. No matter what you are learning, the material will only be good to you for so long unless you regularly apply it.

Subscribe to the IRS Exams Newsletter

We’ve broken down the domains tested per part, the approximate number of questions per domain, and percent of the exam covered by each domain. There are no education or experience requirements you need to meet in order to take the EA exam. You should be able to pass all three parts within one year, but you have two years to pass if needed. The IRS extended this period Opens in new window to three years to provide added flexibility during the COVID-19 pandemic. Again, this depends on your level of knowledge and experience.

All score values above passing indicate that a candidate is qualified — not how qualified. You will also receive diagnostic information which may indicate areas of weakness in your performance where you may need continuing education. The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) offers the Special Enrollment Examination (SEE) to tax practitioners enrolled agent exam who want to become enrolled agents. This is the highest credential for tax professionals that is recognized by the IRS. If you fail a part of the Enrolled Agent exam, it’s ok, not everyone passes all three parts on the first try. Those who fail receive a score along with a diagnostic report indicating their areas of weakness.

Why Buy from Phoenix Tax?

Understanding the concepts will ensure you get to the correct answer no matter how well or poorly the questions on the exam are phrased. Having the understanding behind those questions means you have the necessary training & tax knowledge to think through and resolve most of the problems taxpayers face. Anyone taking a three and a half hour long exam is going to have a performance peak, which also means they will experience performance valleys or periods of diminished capacity. A decrease in performance on exam day is usually the result of not being prepared for the challenge. To perform and concentrate during the entire exam, you need to have the ability to reset your focus and attention along the way.

Candidates register online at /irs by clicking Schedule My Test. Candidates select an appointment time and a site for taking the exam during the registration process. For additional details, visit their website and click on Review the Candidate Information Bulletin. Candidates who pass a part of the examination can carry over passing scores up to three years from the date the candidate passed the examination. The best thing you can do is to study when others wouldn’t. When you do this you are resetting your mind and everything you are to increase the importance of passing the EA exam.

I previously passed parts of the exam, how long can I carry over those scores? (updated 3/1/

He shares his knowledge on Forbes,, and, empowering readers to boost their careers. With his help, countless students and professionals have passed certification exams and achieved their dreams. Whether you’re seeking career advancement or educational success, Bryce Welker is the ultimate guide to help you get there. If you think of tax law as a lot of rules, exceptions to the rules, and exceptions to the exceptions, then you can expect a lot of the EA exam to focus on exceptions. For this reason, the EA exam doesn’t really have trick questions per se.

Persons not scheduled to take a test are not permitted to wait in the test center. A complete list of test center rules can be found in the Candidate Information Bulletin at The test is offered from May 1 to the end of February of the following year.